University of Florida Homepage

UF’s Iron Man, Part Two

The American Chemical Society has just announced their 2016 Fellows, and UF Drago Chair of Chemistry George Christou is on the esteemed list. The ACS has named 57 chemists who have made significant contributions in their field in the July 18 issue of Chemical & Engineering News. Christou is one of only two Florida chemists named as a fellow.

Recently, Christou has been awarded the prestigious Nyholm Prize by the UK’s Royal Society of Chemistry, and was just named UF’s Teacher-Scholar of the Year for 2015-2016.

Christou says that being named that an ACS fellow is a testament to his “research success and my service to the ACS community through my conference organization and related activities.” Christou was also selected to 2014’s and 2015’s Highly Cited Researchers list, which includes only 200 chemists from around the world. Christou is “very proud to be one of them, since they represent the top 1% based on citations and thus scientific influence/impact.”

The American Chemical Society is a nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. With nearly 157,000 members, ACS is the world’s largest scientific society and a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals, and scientific conferences.